Tuesday, 2 August 2022

British submarine HMS A-7 1903-1914

Dutch magazine De Prins dated 31 January 1914

Part of the A-class submarines, preceded by Holland-class, succeeded by B-class, ordered under the 1903-1904 Naval Programme, laid down by Vickers Barrow-in-Furness on 19 February 1903, launched on 23 January 1905, completed on 13 April 1905 and sunk in Whitsand Bay, Cornwall on 16 January 1914. Displacement 193 (surfaced)-209 (submerged) tons and as dimensions 32.0 x 3.9 x 3.3 metres or 105 x 12.9 x 10.8 feet. Propulsion 1-550bhp 16-cylinder Wolseley petrol motor and 1-150hp electric motor allowing a speed of 111 (surfaced)-7 (submerged) knots and a range of 550 nautical miles/10 knots. Crew numbered 11 men (including 2 officers). Armament consisted of 2-45cm/18” torpedo tubes. 

No comments:

Post a Comment